The Marie C. Malaro Excellence in Research and Writing Award

The Marie Malaro Excellence in Research and Writing Award honors the achievements of Professor Emerita Marie Malaro, former director of the Museum Studies Program and an American Association of Museums Centennial Honoree.  Professor Emerita Malaro authored the Legal Primer on Managing Museum Collections (Smithsonian Press 2nd ed. 1998, 3rd ed. 2012 with Ildiko P. DeAngelis) the primary resource on law and ethics of collections management.  She served as the lead lecturer and co-instructor of the MSTD Collections Management: Legal and Ethical Issues course for the Distance Education Program from 2004 to 2013.

Each year up to three graduate students are honored for excellence in research and writing in the field of Museum Studies. The writing submissions are in fulfillment of the writing requirement for the Master of Arts in Museum Studies and Museum Studies Certificate. After presenting their paper topics at the annual Marie C. Malaro Symposium, each recipient receives a small monetary award of $100 and a certificate.


2016 Award Winners

From left: Dara Shore, Daleanice Barkins, Kathleen E. King, and Sally Yerkovich, Director of the Institute of Museum Ethics at Seton Hall

Daleanice Barkins, A Call to Action: The Necessary Diversification of the Museum Workforce

Kathleen E. King, Exploring the Concept of a 'Legacy' Collection: A Study on German WWI Paper Textiles at the National Museum of American History

Dara Shore, Subsisting and Co-Existing: An Analysis and Client-Based Strategy for Addressing Subsistence Digging

Keynote Speaker: Sally Yerkovich, Director of the Institute of Museum Ethics at Seton Hall

2015 Award Winners

Top from left: Erin Carlson Mast, Executive Director of President Lincoln's Cottage, alumna ('03), Caitlyn Reizman, Julia Falkowski, Kamilah Stinnett

Julia Falkowki, Director 2.0? Assessing the Leadership Success of Nina Simon

Caitlyn Reizman, Ubiquitous RFID Computing for Personalized Content Delivery in Museums

Kamilah Stinnett, Selective Memories and the Civil Rights Movement in Museum Exhibitions

Keynote speaker: Erin Carlson Mast, Executive Director of President Lincoln's Cottage

2014 Award Winners

Top: Lonnie G. Bunch, Founding Director of the National Museum of African American History and Culture; Bottom from Left: Luisa M. Dispenzirie, Kelsie Torrenti, Ayla Amon

Ayla Amon, Props of Prestige: Postcolonial Identity in Moroccan National Museums

Luisa M. Dispenzirie, Student Trustees: A Study of Governance Best Practices at Academic Galleries and Museums

Kelsie Torrenti, Chasing Authenticity: Re-Examining the Authentic Experience in Historic House Museums

Keynote Speaker: Lonnie G. Bunch, Founding Director of the National Museum of African American History and Culture

2013 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

Top From left: Kym Rice, Director, MSTD, Martha Morris, Assistant Director & Associate Professor, MSTD; Bottom From Left: Janessa Doucette, Elizabeth Dowdle, and Andrew Raker

Janessa Doucette, The Price of Value: Commercial Fossil Trade and Natural History Museums

Elizabeth Dowdle, Tarnished Silver: The Treatment of the Sevso Treasure and other Unprovenanced Antiquities

Andrew Raker, Visitors Aren't Allowed Inside Closets: The Mislabeling and Hiding of LGBT People in Museums

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Nancy Proctor, Head of Mobile Strategy and Initiatives, Smithsonian Institution

2012 Award Winners

2012 Award

From left: Alex Nyerges, Director, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Kym Rice, Director, MSTD, Samantha Bass, Meghan Mulkerin, Dixie Clough

Samantha Bass, Exhibiting the Sacred

Dixie Clough, "People Follow People": The Key to a Successful YouTube Strategy for Museums

Meghan Mulkerin, "Says Who? Objects and Attribution in Museum Records"

Keynote Speaker: Alex Nyerges, Director, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

2011 Award Winners

From left: Martha Morris, Assistant Director, MSTD, Lauren Andersen, Kristen N. Quarles, Jan T. Letowski, Kym Rice, Director, MSTD

Lauren Andersen, Exhibiting Human Remains in the Museum: A Discussion of Ethics and Museum Practice

Jan T. Letowski, Museum-Making: Transitioning from the Private Collection to Public Museum

Kristen N. Quarles, Give it Back or Get Out: Cultural Property "Battles," Egypt, and the Musee du Louvre

Keynote Speaker: Marsha Semmel, Deputy Director for Museums and Director for Strategic Partnerships, Institute for Museums and Library Services

2010 Award Winners

2010 Award

From left: Helen Wirka, Director Kym Rice, Keynote Speaker Richard Kurin, Lauren Jaeger, and Jessie Cohen

Jessie Cohen, Finders Keepers?: The Machu Picchu Collection

Lauren Jaeger, “Bittersweet Harvest”: The Collecting and Exhibiting the Bracero Program

Helen Wirka, Why the American Association of Museums Should Look to Revised Disposal Policy for the Museum Association of Great Britain for Guidance

Keynote Speaker: Richard Kurin, Under Secretary for History, Art and Culture, Smithsonian Institution

2009 Award Winners

Kristin Bayans, Habitat Immersion' and Asia Trails at the Smithsonian Zoological Park

Shira Gladstone, President Lincoln's Cottage: A Case Study

Katherine Maas, Lessons from the Destruction at the Iraq Museum: What Museums Must Do to Protect Cultural Property during Armed Conflict

Keynote Speaker: Elizabeth Merritt, Founding Director, Center for the Future of Museums, American Association of Museums

2008 Award Winners

Alexis Ainsworth, Are Cypriot Coins Worth Saving?: The Battle over Import Restrictions on Coins

Jillian Finkle, Zoo and Aquarium Theater

Marianna Horton, VARA After Buchel: The Right to Display Unfinished Works of Visual Art

Keynote Speakers: Deborah Hull-Walski, Collections Manager, Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution and David R. Hunt, Museum Specialist, Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution

2007 Award Winners

Rena Lipman, Jewish Cultural Reconstruction Reconsidered: Should the Jewish Religious Objects Distributed Around the World After WWII be Returned to Europe?

Angelina Ong, Museums in Non-Western Contexts: Challenging the Popular Paradigm

Randall A. Williams, African American Museums and Financial Sustainability

Keynote Speaker: Lonnie Bunch, Director, Museum of African American History and Culture, Smithsonian Institution

2006 Award Winners

Anna Ippolito, Collaborative International Exhibitions in the United States: A Call for Ethical Guidelines

Cassie Mancer, Giving Voice: Issues in the Exhibition of Oral Narratives

Katie Myers, NPS Museum Professionals and Competitive Sourcing

Keynote Speaker: Edward H. Able, President and CEO, American Association of Museums

2005 Award Winners

Elizabeth V. Eubanks, Managing Forensic Evidence in the Custody of Museums: Legal Considerations for the Establishments of Guidelines at the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution

Arianna Fogelman, Tradition, Urbanity, and "Colonial Legacy" at the Ghana National Museum

Michelle Beth Lee, The Business of Dinosaurs: The Chicago Field Museum's Nonprofit Enterprise

Keynote Speaker: Stephen E. Weil, Senior Scholar, Center for Education and Museum Studies, Smithsonian Institution